Blessed be the children…

It’s true – they give us a lot of joy. However, for the purpose of this blog I need to keep focused on the subject of staying in shape. And children have the potential to do just that.

They give us a second youth. Let me explain. I had my son late, in my early thirties. Now that he’s 10, I take him skateboarding, surfing, skiing, etc. All the things I enjoyed when I was young and single. So now, it’s like going back to those years. But (there’s always a but) I would not be able to do all those things if I haven’t kept myself in shape. It’s like a catch 22 in a good way – you have to keep yourself fit and in shape for the kids while kids make you younger. Well, indirectly – it’s the exercise that will. But no matter what, it’s worth it. If you can’t be bothered to stay in shape for yourself, at least do it for your children. And now you have a great excuse to do it.

Children are an antidote to stress. Although, many of you would disagree with me, this is true. If you come home from the office after a stressful day, there’s nothing like seeing your child’s smile, or first steps to forget all about work. This is just a couple of examples, but whatever the children do, you just have to put your business worries aside when you are with them. Children live in an innocent world and they would not understand the complexities of adults’ world. They do not deserve for adults to bring stress home.

Furthermore, they make you smile which is the best stress relief ever. When you smile, your body releases endorphins (as opposed to adrenaline when you stress) and let’s not forget about the muscles. Every time you smile you give about 20 muscles in your face a good workout.

Children also teach you (or help rediscover) feelings that you may not have felt for a long time. As an example from my life, I may have been reluctant to have children before my son was born. But right now I love and adore him and feel blessed and privileged that he came into my life. I am grateful for each and every day I can spend with him.

Furthermore, being around people much younger than you (kids), forces you to mentally go to the same level. Kids don’t have the experience and therefore you can’t assume that they know anything. The things you take for granted you actually have to explain to them. This forces you to re-examine assumptions and very often makes you see things in a new light. Thus, you can drop some preconceived ideas or beliefs that are not helpful.

In the end it does not really matter whether you have children of your own or if you work with children – you still benefit the same. If you spend all day with one child or a part of the day with many children, the result will be the same. And remember, the more you give to them, the more you will receive in return.

About istayinshape

Passionate about keeping in shape body, mind and spirit. Can help you achieve that dream body.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed be the children…

  1. Silvia says:

    I have known you a long time and this is one of the nicest insights I have had into who you are.

Leave a Reply

