Butter vs Margarine

For many years I have been eating butter like there’s no tomorrow thinking that butter is healthier than margarine. Not because of saturated fat but because of trans fats. Then one day a friend tells me that butter contains more trans fats than margarine!

Imagine my shock – that can’t be right! I always look at the back of the label listing the nutritional information and butter had never any trans fats showing. (This may be due to some regulations not requiring to list trans fats if the product contains saturated fat which is required to be listed. The regulations are confusing, to say the least.)

Anyway, so I thought I would do some digging on the internet to see what I would find. Well, just like anything else we consume, there are good and bad trans fats. And because there is not enough research into this subject, there is no requirement to distinguish between the two.

According to Wikipedia, trans fats are sometimes monounsaturated or polyunsaturated, but never saturated. This excludes butter from having trans fats. However, a couple of studies are cited there claiming that dairy products actually contain natural trans fats that are beneficial to health.

Here’s a simple comparison between butter and margarine. Looking at this, I feel justified to stick with butter.

About istayinshape

Passionate about keeping in shape body, mind and spirit. Can help you achieve that dream body.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butter vs Margarine

  1. Steve Morris says:

    I am also interested in this question. I find it incredible that no doctor can answer the question: which is better, butter or margarine?

    • istayinshape says:

      It saddens me that these days being a doctor has become a profession just like an auto mechanic – profits before helping others. And just like a mechanic, a doctor will want you to come back. So, no, you won’t get a satisfactory answer from a doctor. I can only tell you from my own experience that I’ve always avoided margarine, if I could, my cholesterol was below 5 at 41yo and I consumed large amounts of butter.

Leave a Reply

