I just can’t gain weight!

I know, I know – many people will hate me for saying this. But grass is always greener on the other side and we always want things we don’t have. Still, the fact is that no matter how much I try, I just stay the same.

No matter what I do, there’s no change in my weight. My aim is to increase the muscle mass by about 10kg and keep the fat at current levels. It shouldn’t be that hard, after all both fat and muscle tissues are just storage of excess energy. It should be simple: calories in vs calories out, right?

I have increased my meals from 3 to 4 a day. I have eggs and bacon for breakfast with a generous amount of butter on my toast. For lunch I’ll usually eat either a large salad or roast vegies. Sometimes it’s sushi. If I cook dinner, then it’s usually stir-fry meat with vegies, or some pasta with salmon, fetta and basil. Of course, I’ll use some healthy fat for frying, like ghee or coconut oil. Supper is a simple affair, some porridge. Yes, I have porridge for supper. I like to do things the unconventional way. But I’ll put at least a couple of eggs into the porridge as well as some butter or olive oil.

Well, if diet won’t help, then maybe it’s the exercise. In the past I used to spend 2 hours a day 6 times a week in the gym until I got so bored with weights that I did not look at them for about 15 years. These days I just do about 30 minutes a day 5 times a week. Occasionally, I’ll play badminton, maybe once a week or fortnight. My weight still stays the same…

Hmm, let’s see what else can affect it. I used to drink a lot of coffee. Up to 8 cups a day. Then I cut it down to 4, but doubles… After all, coffee speeds up your metabolism and you end up burning more calories even when doing nothing. So my recent resolution is to drink one cup a day and see if it helps. It’s hard going, though. Caffeine addiction is the hardest thing for me to break.

Another thing is that I like my food a little on the spicy side. Capsaicin, the active ingredient in chilli, after all has the effect of shifting substrate oxidation from carbohydrate to fat oxidation. In other words, it can promote weight loss. Hmm. Maybe I’ll have to ease off that chilli a bit.

And another thing is that I hate overdressing. Even in winter I rarely wear a jacket. I prefer to stay cool rather than warm. Maybe, just a small maybe, my body is forced in this way to expend more calories just to keep me warm. I might have to put that coat on, and some thermal underwear…

I could do what the majority of population in the modern world do – spend more time watching TV and get on the low-fat, high-carb and sugar diet. I’m sure I would gain a lot of weight quickly, but that would miss the point entirely.

Anyway, if you’re one of those people that thought “Gee, I hate this guy”, do not despair. Just do the opposite to what I described here.

Damn, I just drank another cup of coffee writing this post…

About istayinshape

Passionate about keeping in shape body, mind and spirit. Can help you achieve that dream body.
This entry was posted in fitness, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

