I confess…

I have a confession to make. I am living with an addiction. It’s been with me for almost half my lifetime. It all started innocently but has been creeping up on me slowly over the years and I did not realize until now how serious it is.

I’m addicted to fat. Animal fat, saturated or unsaturated. I just can’t live without it. Mostly butter since it’s easily available and relatively cheap. I churn through a block of this thick yellow substance in a couple of days. I also like olive oil for variety. I’ll go through a half-liter bottle in a week. In conjunction with the butter, by the way.

Occasionally, I’ll splash out on something more exotic like coconut oil. I just can’t go past the smell of fresh organic extra-virgin and cold-pressed coconut oil. It just makes my mouth water. It makes stir-fry taste a hundred times better. This stuff is a bit more expensive than other fats and oils and I feel guilty sometimes to just fry it so I use ghee instead. The coconut oil, I will eat it raw with a spoon, like a treat.

But the ultimate treat which I allow myself every now and then is hemp oil. This is even more exotic than coconut oil. It contains a lot of omega-3 fatty acids and has a beautiful nutty taste. I go nuts over it and can’t help myself but drink it straight out of the bottle. Yummy!

My problems start when I buy take-away food. The sandwiches and rolls are all without butter. Zero. Zilch. The food just tastes so dry. I have trouble swallowing it. Even worse some shops use margarine. Yuk! This stuff tastes plastic and contains trans-fats.

And it’s a similar story with sushi. It’s just plain rice with some raw fish or dry chicken. It just lumps in my throat and doesn’t want to go down. The other day I bought a coffee with a muffin. The muffin looked so appealing but when the waitress brought it over to my table she cheerfully announced that it’s 99% fat-free. And that’s just ruined the whole experience. One bite and I had enough, I just couldn’t swallow it.

The problem is getting worse and I just don’t know what to do… Does anyone know of any support groups for people like me? A rehab center?

But, on the other hand, it could be worse. I could have been addicted to smokes, alcohol or drugs with disastrous effects. Or even sugar. Looking so innocent and sweet, it is very treacherous. A little bit won’t kill you. Even a lot won’t kill you. It just makes your body respond with more insulin than necessary and make you crave for more. After years of abusing this substance, people end up obese and diabetic. As it is, I do not have to worry about these afflictions. I wear jeans size 28” in waist and still need to use a belt, have a six-pack showing on my stomach and weigh just over 70kg. Last time I checked, my blood sugar levels were normal and my cholesterol was 4.9.

I think I might have to learn to live with my habit…

About istayinshape

Passionate about keeping in shape body, mind and spirit. Can help you achieve that dream body.
This entry was posted in diet, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

